Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Be Hard Bop - New Stream In Jazz Vol. 6

Compilation series dedicated to the Golden Age of the Japanese Jazz scene through the years 60-70's. This volume includes Contemporary Jazz, Bossa Nova with Samba rhythms, Jazz Funk & Soul Jazz, featuring Terumasa Hino, Sadao Watanabe, Isao Suzuki, Kimiko Kasai & Gil Evans, Mieko Hirota with Billy Taylor Trio, Yoshio "Chin" Suzuki & more... All tracks recorded between 1967-1973. 

Compiled & Mixed by Be Hard Bop

Friday, July 24, 2015


This is Super Sound ! A collection of some incredible funky beats & groovy sounds, seventeen tracks recorded between 1968-1976, featuring : Manu Dibango, The Fatback Band, Kool & The Gang, Betty Davis, Oliver Nelson, Minnie Riperton, Earth Wind And Fire, Oneness Of Juju, The Stovall Sisters, O'Donel Levy, The Sisters Love, Incredible Bongo Band, Eric Burdon & War, The Gil Evans Orchestra, Michael Bloomfield, Marlena Shaw, Jimmy Castor Bunch and more...

Compiled & Mixed by Be Hard Bop​

Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Various, Yuji Ohno - The Boss & His Piano by Be Hard Bop

Yuji Ohno is one of the best pianist than Japan can counted, best known as composer & arranger of various music for films and japanese animation series, among others Nigen No Shomei (The Proof Of The Man), Inugamike No Ichizoku (The Inugamis), Lupin III & Captain Future. Sideman for Terumasa Hino, Masahiko Togashi or Ryo Kawasaki, he also produced & arranged for several female vocalist as Ann Young, Mieko Hirota, Kimiko Kasai or the Brazilian singer, Sonia Rosa. From 1970 to 1975, his trio consists of drummer Kazuyoshi Okayama and bassists Yoshio Ikeda & Takashi Mizuhashi. In the late seventies, he turn his music to Jazz Funk and formed You & The Explosion Band featuring Jake H. Conception, Takeru Muraoka & Akira Okazawa. From 1999, he regularly played in trio with bassists Yoshio Suzuki, Masayuki Tawarayama & drummer Kenichiro Murata, and created in 2006, his new Jazz Funk band, The Lupintic Five. This compilation includes studio recordings & live performances from 1967 to 1975, feat. Terumasa Hino, Hiroshi Suzuki, Masahiko Togashi, Sonia Rosa, Ann Young, Itaru Oki & Kimiko Kasai.

Compiled & Mixed by Be Hard Bop

Saturday, July 11, 2015

Akira Ishikawa & The Gentures - Beat Pops / Drum Hits

Year : 1970
Label : DENON/Columbia
Genre : Jazz, Rock
Style : Jazz Rock, Pop, Psychedelic

Groovy cover versions of well-known pop songs arranged by Masahiko Aoi and played by the jazz rock band, The Gentures (featuring Hiromasa Suzuki, Kiyoshi Sugimoto & Takeru Muraoka), led by the great jazz drummer Akira Ishikawa, on the same way as Rock, Rock '70. Titles include some western popular hits which left their mark in Japan as Sugar SugarCome Together, Suspicious Minds or Honky Tonk Women. Among others titles likewise include, various french songs such as Aime Ceux Qui T'aiment by Danièle Vidal (best known in Japan than France under Tenshi No Rakugaki) or Love Me Tonight (Maurice Chevalier), Green River by The Creedance and the pop rock song In the Year 2525. All tracks arranged by Masahiko Aoi.

Akira Ishikawa_drums
Takeshi Onodera_percussion
Hiromasa Suzuki_keyboards
Kiyoshi Sugimoto_guitar
Masaoki Terakawa & Isao Eto_bass
Takeru Muraoka_soprano saxophone
Hiroshi Suzuki_trombone
Tetsuo Fushimi_trumpet

01. Sugar Sugar
02. The Train
03. Come Together
04. Green River
05. Aime Ceux Qui T'aiment
06. Early In The Morning
07. Little Woman
08. Suspicious Minds
09. In the Year 2525 

10. Honky Tonk Women
11. Love Me Tonight
12. Happy Heart
13. Sealed With A Kiss
14. From A Distance 


Monday, July 6, 2015

Be Hard Bop - New Stream In Jazz Vol. 5

Compilation series dedicated to the Golden Age of the Japanese Jazz scene through the years 60-70's. The following of the Volume 1 bringing together other titles ranging from Soul Jazz & Hard Bop to Big Band style, including some jazz standards and original compositions by Kazuo Yashiro, Yuji Ohno, Norio Maeda, Hiroshi Suzuki, Takehiro Honda, Shungo Sawada & Takeru Muraoka, Jake H. Conception, Nobuo Hara & His Sharps & Flats, Akira Ishikawa, Takeshi Inomata, Keitaro Miho, The Freedom Unity. All tracks released between 1969-1972.

compiled & mixed by  Be Hard Bop

Thursday, July 2, 2015

Tom Zé - Grande Liquidação

Year : 1968
Label : Rozenbilt
Genre : Latin, Rock
Style : MPB, Psychedelic

The Grande Liquidação is the first testimony of one of the greatest talent coming from the Sao Paulo scene, a sharp criticism of the post-industrial Brazilian era, following that of the consommation society. Tom Zé is a brazilian figure of the Tropicália movement (alongside Caetano Veloso, Gal Costa & Gilberto Gil), the revolution that introduced in the Brazilian music, electric guitars, protest speech with involved, provocative & satirical lyrics, breaking with the spirit from Samba & Bossa Nova. For the Grande Liquidação, Tom Zé enrolled two rhythm sections, whose the brazilian psychedelic band, Os Brazões. Titles include São São Paulo & Gloria featuring Os Brazões, Namorinho de Portão, Sem Entrada e Sem Mais Nada, Quero Sambar Meu Bem. All tracks written by Tom Zé, songs 2, 4, 5, 6, 9, 10 & 11 performed by Tom Zé with Os Versáteis.

Roberto_lead guitar
Miguel De Deus_rhythm guitar
Eduardo "Edu" Rocha_drums

01. São São Paulo
02. Curso Intensivo de Boas Maneiras
03. Glória
04. Namorinho de Portão
05. Catecismo, Creme Dental e Eu
06. Camelô
07. Não Buzine que Eu Estou Paquerando
08. Profissão Ladrão
09. Sem Entrada e Sem Mais Nada
10. Parque Industrial
11. Quero Sambar Meu Bem
12. Sabor de Burrice

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...