Saturday, November 22, 2014

Caetano Veloso (Self-Titled)

Year : 1968
Label : Philips
Serie : DeLuxe
Genre : Latin, Rock, Latin Jazz
Style : MPB, Bossa Nova, Samba, Psychedelic

After his debut Bossa Nova album, "Domingo" (1967), which launched Gal Costa's career in Brazilian Pop Music, the committed artist Caetano Veloso gets involved into the Tropicália movement in becoming one of its famous leaders with among others artists such as Gilberto Gil, Os Mutantes, Maria Bethânia or Tom Zé. This protest movement started in the late sixties, formed by a community of musicians, political activists, songwriters & poets who wanted revolutionize the brazilian culture involving an assertive social awareness against Brazilian military dictatorship (Gil & Veloso were held for several months in 1969 before to be forced to leave the country). They have searched in introducing largely some influences, spirit, writing style & attitude from the Beat Generation, folk & psychedelic music as performed by the Jefferson Airplane, Bob Dylan, The Beatles or The Rolling Stones. Also called the "Tropicalia" album, it was recorded with the ambition to make it the equivalent of the "Sgt. Peppers" album for Brazil, co-written & composed with the poet José Carlos Capinan, his friend Gilberto Gil, Ferreira Gullar, the songstress Gal Costa and Rogério Duprat in charge of the arrangements (himself involved in several albums of the Tropicália movement),  Titles include the two anthems "Tropicália" & the freedom song "Alegria, Alegria" (often referred to as the Brazilian hymn of 1967), "Ave Maria" from the Franz Schubert version & "Clara" featuring Gal Costa. All songs are composed by Caetano Veloso except those mentioned.

01. Tropicália
02. Clarice (Caetano Veloso, Capinan)
03. No Dia Em Que Eu Vim-Me Embora (Caetano Veloso, Gilberto Gil)
04. Alegria, Alegria
05. Onde Andarás? (Caetano Veloso, Ferreira Gullar)
06. Ave Maria (Franz Schubert)
07. Superbacana
08. Paisagem Útil
09. Clara feat. Gal Costa
10. Soy Loco por Tí, América (Capinan, Gilberto Gil)
11. Anunciação (Caetano Veloso, Rogerio Duprat)
12. Eles (Caetano Veloso, Gilberto Gil)

Post a Comment
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...