Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Kimiko Kasai - Just Friends 'Kimiko Kasai' Concert

Year : 1970
Label : King Records
Serie : NEWS
Genre : Jazz
Style : Contempory Jazz, Vocal

Debut album by Kimiko Kasai, first official record of a famous japanese jazz vocalist (the Japanese Marlena Shaw) who was born in Kyoto in 1945 and introduced on japanese jazz scene by pianist Yuzuru Sera. She went to Tokyo in 1964 and became a featured member in Yuzuru Sera' group with whom she recorded The Modern Playing Mate : Yuzuru Sera Trio introducing Kimiko Kasai in 1968. After that time, she released many others albums with her own name or in collaboration with some of the most renowned musicians in the jazz field, such as Mal Waldron (One For Lady - 1971), Gil Evans (Satin Doll - 1972), Stan GetzOliver Nelson (In Person - 1974), Kohsuke Mine Quartet (Yellow Carcass In Blue - 1975), Cedar Walton Trio (Kimiko Is Here - 1977) or also Herbie Hancock (Butterfly - 1979). This live performance was recorded at the Yamaha Hall, Tokyo, performed with Yuji Ohno Trio, is considered as her official first solo album.

Kimiko Kasai_vocal
Yuji Ohno_piano
Takashi Mizuhashi_bass 
Tetsujirō Ohara _drums

01. There Will Never Be Another You
02. Sunny
03. Exactly Like You
04. Just In Time
05. Wild Is The Wind
06. By The Time I Get To Phoenix
07. Bewiched
08. Get Out Of Town
09. Good Life
10. Just Friends


Friday, April 16, 2010

Jurassic 5 - Power In Numbers

Year : 2002
Label : Interscope Records
Genre : Hip Hop
Style : Hip Hop Jazz, Conscious, Funk/Soul
Website :

Jurassic 5 was an American alternative Hip Hop group from Los Angeles and formed in 1993 by MC's Chali 2na, Akil, Zaakir, Mark 7even, DJ's Cut Chemist (one of the best turnabilist known who left the band in 2006) and DJ Nu-Mark. They released their first single on the independent label Blunt Recordings in 1995 (Unified Rebelution) before signed to Rumble for the Jurassic 5 EP (reissue on Interscope).  Power In Numbers represents the peak of their career, after the second LP  Quality Control (2000) & Jurassic 5 LP (1998), is probably their most popular album. Titles include featurings with Big Daddy Kane & Percy P (A Day At The Races), Nelly Furtado (Thin Line), Kool Keith (DDT), Boy Wonder (Hey) & JuJu (One Of Them), their hit singles What's Golden & If You Only Knew. All tracks produced by Cut Chemist & DJs Nu-Mark except If You Only Knew, One Of Them by JuJu and Hey by Sa-Ra Creative Partners.

01. This Is
02. Freedom
03. If You Only Knew
04. Break
05. React
06. A Day At The Races
07. Remember His Name
08. What's Golden
09. Thin Line
10. After School Special
11. High Fidelity
12. Sum Of Us
13. DDT
14. One Of Them
15. Hey
16. I Am Somebody
17. Acetate Prophets

Five Deez - Slow Children Playing

Year : 2005
Label :
Ample Soul
Genre :
Hip Hop, Electronic
Style :
Jazzy Hip-Hop, Abstract, Conscious

Five Deez is a american Hip-Hop Band from Cincinnati formed in the nineties by the DJ John Marshall best known as Fat Jon The Ample Soul with rappers Patrick Johnson (Phase Rock), Kyle David (Chilly Most) & Corey Brown (Sonic). Five Deez has worked with several US & Japan Hip-Hop artists such as J.Rawls, Blackstar, Mos Def, Nujabes or Shing02. Among Five Deez’s influences can be counted Electro, Trip-Hop & Jazz. This compilation gathers several of their early recordings  & unreleased productions recorded between 1993-1999 including Cerebral Attax, Gateway featuring the Hip-Hop band Mood (also from Cincinnati) or What Happens (Remix). All tracks arranged & composed by Fat Jon The Ample Soul Physician.

01. Cerebral Attax
02. Nek Shit
03. Skinterlude
04. Skin Huntin
05. Sunny Day
06. Collision (Interlude)
07. Disgust (Ver. 2.0)
08. Fallin
09. Peace Out (Interlude)
10. Rip Mode
11. Gateway 2000 feat. Mood
12. Fivebluntwenties (Interlude)
13. 2 All Beginners
14. Dimensional Portals
15. Tite Spots (Interlude)
16. What Happens (Remix)
17. Timeline (Ver. 3.0)
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...