Tuesday, February 27, 2018

Dieuf-Dieul De Thiès - Aw Sa Yone Vol. 2

Year : 2015
Label : Teranga Beat
Genre : Jazz, World, Folk
Style : Afro Jazz, Afro Cuban Jazz, Psychedelic Rock

Dieuf-Dieul De Thiès is a senegalese band formed in 1979, composed by 13 members  featuring the three singers Assane Camara, Gora Mbaye, Bassirou Sarr and the  guitarist/leader Pape Seck. From 1979 to 1983, the group known a great success in Senegal and Gambia before to separate. Recently rediscovered by Greek Dj Adamantios Kafetzis, the group started to tour in Europe after the two reissues Aw Sa Yone Vol. 1 & 2, recorded in 1982 and released on the Teranga Beat label.  The Music of Dieuf-Dieul is a kind of Afro-Jazz crossover producing an hypnotic groove, the result of a clever blend between musical traditions (including Mandigo sound) and modern music (including psychedelic rock & Soul music), the african rhythms with Jazz & Afro Cuban Music.

Pape Abdou Aziz Seck_leader, guitar
Abdoulaye Camara_guitar
Doudou Leo Dior_bass
Pape Cissé_alto saxophone
Pape Demba Diop_tenor saxophone
Alioune Badara Diop_trumpet
Sogui Ngom_drums (sabar)
Abdoulaye Ly_drums (tumba)
El Hadji Ngom_talking drum (tama)
Cheikh Ndiaye_timbales
Assane Camara, Bassirou Sarr & Gora Mbaye_vocals

01. Ariyo
02. Am Sa Waye
03. Rumba Para Parejas
04. Jirim
05. Nianky
06. Sidy Ndiaye
07. Raki


No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...