Thursday, November 16, 2017

The Magic Disco Machine - Disc-O-Tech

Year : 1975
Label : Motown
Genre : Funk/Soul
Style : Disco

The Magic Disco Machine was a collective of Motown's own producers including Jesse Boyce (of The Fame Gang, Dillard & Boyce) and Freddie Perren (the man behind the hit of Gloria Glaynor "I Will Survive"). Disc-O-Tech explores the disco movement nascent and reminds some of the best soundtracks from the Blaxploitation, featuring the Motown's studio musicians and its backing vocals bands : The Devastating Affair and The Sisters Love (formed on the Raelettes' ashes, the vocal group of Ray Charles). The collective produced two albums which seem especially designed for nightclubs & DJs. Some of the tracks were sampled many times, including the popular "Scratchin" by Hip-Hop artists such as RUN DMC in "Jam Master Jay" (1984) & DJ Shadow in "Lesson 4" (1991).

01. Control Tower
02. Window Shopping
03. Jumbo Sam
04. Let's Go Back To Day One
05. Control Tower (Reprise)
06. (I Could Never Make) A Better Man Than You Feat. The Sisters Love
07. Scratchin'
08. Tryin' To Get Over
09. Love Pains
10. You Don't Know (How Hard It Is To Make It) Feat. The Devastating Affair

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...