Saturday, April 1, 2017

Native Son (Self-Titled)

Year : 1979
Label : Infinity records
Genre : Jazz
Style : Jazz Funk, Latin Jazz

"Native Son" is a Japanese fusion band formed in 1978, when the crossover jazz "boom" was at climax in Japan. From  the late seventies to the mid eighties, they had met an international audience, when they were regularly on stage in Europe (Montreux Jazz Festival '83) and in the USA. Led by pianist Takehiro Honda featuring saxophonist Kosuke Mine, drummer Hiroshi Murakami and later joined by trombonist Hiroshi Fukumura, the group released between 1978-1987, seven albums whose the record hit "Savannah Hot-Line" in 1979. Their music includes some Latin melodies (Whispering Eyes feat. Damião Gomes De Souza), caribbean styles (Wind Surfin) & Funk elements (Super Safari). "Heat Zone" is a variation of "Spirits Flow" previously realeased on "Another Departure" in 1977, during the Vanguard studio recording sessions with Tony Williams & Ron Carter.  All tracks composed by Takehiro Honda.

Takehiro Honda_electric piano, clavinet & Synthesizer  
Kohsuke Mine_tenor & soprano saxophones
Tamio Kawabata_bass 
Motonobu Ohde_guitar
Hiroshi Murakami_drums
Damião Gomes De Souza_cuica

01.Bump Crusing
02.Heat Zone
03.Breezin' & Dreamin'
04.Wind Surfing
05.Whispering Eyes
06.Twilight Mist
07.Super Safari
08.Whispering Eyes (Reprise)

Post a Comment
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...