Tuesday, December 20, 2016

Stevie Wonder - Innervisions

Year : 1973
Label : Talma Motown
Genre : Soul, Jazz
Style : Funk/Soul, R&B, Jazz Funk

Innervisions is the third album from the most creative period of Stevie Wonder, initiated with the Music of Mind album in 1972, the first milestone of a five serie acts which concludes in apogee with "Songs In The Key Of Life" in 1976. Innervisions is representative of a one-man band using a large panoply of instruments, likewise supported by great musicians featuring Jazz Funk guitarist David T. Walker & producer Malcolm Cecil (inventor of TONTO synthesizer). The nine songs of Innervisions are entirely composed by Stevie, gathered in a wide range of styles, from Jazz to Soul by Funk & Latin music (Don't You Worry 'Bout a Thing). Stevie put into songs his thoughts and his feelings on the American social context, including political ethic ("He's Misstra Know It All", a acerbic criticism of Richard Nixon's policy), afro-american conscience (the racism on "Living for the City") and spiritual language on "Jesus Children of America". Titles include also "Higher Ground", the reminiscence of groove from his previous big hit "Superstition", the both ballads "All in Love Is Fair" & "Golden Lady", and "Too High" dealing with drug abuse.

Stevie Wonder_lead vocal, piano, keys, harmonica & drums
Clarence Bell_organ
Malcolm Cecil_bass
Scott Edwards & Willie Weeks_electric bass    
David T. Walker_electric guitar
Dean Parks & Ralph Hammer_acoustic guitar
Larry "Nastyee" Latimer_congas
Sheila Wilkerson_bongos, Latin gourd
Yusuf Roahman_shaker
Tasha Thomas & Jim Gilstrap_background vocal

01. Too High
02. Visions
03. Living for the City
04. Golden Lady
05. Higher Ground
06. Jesus Children of America
07. All in Love Is Fair
08. Don't You Worry 'Bout a Thing
09. He's Misstra Know It All


No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...