Wednesday, October 19, 2016

Isao Etoh & His Pick-Up Seven - Exciting Electric Bass

Year : 1969
Label : Victor
Genre : Jazz, Pop
Serie : Perfect Sound 6
Style : Jazz Rock

Exciting Electric Bass is a rock cover album recorded by Isao Etoh & His Pick-Up Seven (feat. arranger Kunihiko Suzuki), which focuses on western pop hits & Soul Music from The Supremes to Stevie Wonder, passing by The Jackson 5. Isao Etoh is a japanese studio musician who served, alongside the jazz drummer Akira Ishikawa, in the backing band formed for the Japanese version of  Broadway musical "Hair". Best known as a regular bassist for Akira, he collaborated to over 5 000 recordings of pop songs, accompanying various famous japanese pop icons, among others,  Linda Yamamoto, Yukari Ito, Jun Mayuzumi, Mieko Hirota... In the sixties, he played a eminent key role to the success of the GS rock genre as studio bassist. He was recruited by Jackie Yoshikawa and his Blue Comets, The Jaguars, The Wild Ones or Terry and his Blue Jeans (Takeshi Terauchi). From the late sixties, Isao recorded a series of albums pop cover albums (Golden Electric Bass with the Black Panthers) and joined several prestigious japanese jazz formations such as : Toshiyuki Miyama's New Herd (Exciting Rock Beat - 1969), Kiyoshi Sugimoto Quartet (Playboy Sound - Get Back - 1969), Akira Ishikawa's Count Buffalo (Bakishinba ~ Memories Of Africa - 1970). And finally, during the seventies, Isao also played for Masabumi Kikuchi (Masabumi Kikuchi + Gil Evans Orchestra - 1972), Kimiko Kasai, Jiro Inagaki & Motohiko Hino (Beat Drums - 1971).

01. Black Is Black     
02. I'm Gonna Make You Love Me     
03. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da     
04. Gimme Little Sign    
05. Love Child     
06. Back In The U.S.S.R.     
07. Fire     
08. White Room     
09. Maybe Tomorrow     
10. The Beat Goes On     
11. You Keep Me Hangin' On    
12. This Magic Moment 

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...