Wednesday, February 24, 2016

Akira Ishikawa - The Count Buffalo - Memories Of A Drummer

Tribute to the legendary japanese drummer, Akira Ishikawa (1934-2002) & his Count Buffalos, who were prolific on the japanese Jazz Fusion scene from the late sixties to the end of the seventies. This compilation brings together some tracks produced by Akira Ishikawa during this emblematic period, precisely between 1968 - 1975. Best known as bandleader for the Japanese version of rock musical ‘Hair’, from Broadway, Akira Ishikawa started in the mid-fifties when he joined the Akira Miyazawa's Modern All Stars and later the New Herd big band conducted by saxophonist Toshiyuki Miyama. Akira was also an active member of various japanese Jazz formations such as Ace 7 or the famous 'Freedom Unity' quintet, formed with his friend pianist, Hiromasa Suzuki. After a trip in eastern Africa, Akira introduced several traditional African percussions in his music, in order to create a kind of Afro-Jazz fusion including Rock, Funk/Soul & Psychedelia as evidenced the Bakishinba & Uganda albums.

Compiled & Mixed by Be Hard Bop

Sunday, February 21, 2016

Pierre Dutour Et Son Orchestre - Dance And Mood Music Vol. 9

Year : 1969
Label : Chappell
Serie : Dance And Mood Music
Genre : Jazz, Music Library
Style : Jazz Funk, Soul Jazz, Pop

"Holy Grail" record from the Chappell sessions, among the best of the serie, performed by french trumpeter & orchestra leader, Pierre Dutour. In the early sixties, Pierre Dutour joined the "Jeunesses Musicales De France" conducted by Claude Bolling and later was enrolled by him in his sextet, he was also a regular sideman for french singer Nino Ferrer and worked for various french entertainers. Associated to his stooge, Jack Arel, for composing, he participated to several Chappell sessions recordings, but not only, the French Music Library labels "Patchwork" & "Telemusic" bear likewise his signature. Titles include Tracking (reminiscent of the Blaxploitation soundtracks), the killer groove Following You, the classic Business Is Business and Leaving To-Morrow which was sampled by Howie B. for the song "Switch" (extracted from Turn The Dark Off released in 1997). All tracks composed by Pierre Dutour & Jack Arel except High Fly, The Brass March by Garry Bellington.

01. Tracking
02. High Fly
03. I Dream Of You
04. Waiting For
05. I Feel Warm
06. Resting
07. Following You
08. A Sunny Day
09. Charly's Story
10. Sunset
11. Leaving To-Morrow
12. The Brass March
13. Forget-Me-Not
14. Business Is Business


Sunday, February 14, 2016

Be Hard Bop - The Big Band Scope

Worldwide brass bands & jazz orchestra in a selection of titles recorded between 1964-1978, including Jazz Funk, Soul & Contemporary Jazz. The Big Band Scope highlights the masters of the discipline from US (Buddy Rich, Jimmy Smith, Oliver Nelson or Gil Evans), the most famous japanese big bands among others the Sharps & Flats featuring Nobuo Hara, Toshiyuki Miyama & his New Herd, The Inner Galaxy Orchestra conducted by Bingo Miki, without forgetting the geniuses Ella Fitzgerald, Masabumi Kikuchi, Takeshi Inomata plus some european brass bands (French composer Daniel Janin, Pete Moore and Ray Davies).

Compiled & Mixed by Be Hard Bop

Akira Ishikawa & Count Buffalo - Rock And Roll Revival

Year : 1970
Label : Teichiku
Genre : Jazz, Rock
Style : Jazz Rock, Pop

How many record have been released by Akira Ishikawa during the 70s decade ? I don't know but it's sure that the prolific career of Ishikawa, with his legendary Count Buffalo band, contains a significant number of rare groove records. No exception to the rule, Rock And Roll Revival is an umpteenth cover album based on Western Rock standards & a Pop Hits selection, rearranged in Jazz form with a dash of psychedelia associated to exciting drumming beat. Titles include classic masterpieces from Bill Haley, Elvis Presley or Little Richard, alternate takes of titles already recorded previously by Ishikawa and listed on various albums as Rock, Rock '70.

01. Jailhouse Rock
02. Rock And Roll Music
03. Hound Dog
04. Cotton Fields
05. One Way Ticket
06. Rock Around The Clock
07. Diana
08. Be Bop A Lula
09. Lucille
10. Be My Baby
11. Tennessee Waltz-Rock
12. You Are My Destiny

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...