Thursday, October 15, 2015

Raulzinho - Impacto 8 - International Hot

Year : 1968
Label : Equipe
Genre : Jazz, Funk/Soul, Latin
Style : MPB, Soul Jazz, Boogaloo, Bossa, Pyschedelic, Jazz Funk

The legendary Bossa Funk & second album as a leader by Raul de Souza alias Raulzinho, under the name Impacto 8, featuring brazilian singer Betinho, drummer Robertinho Silva & saxophonist Oberdan, respectively from famous Som Imaginário & Banda Black Rio groups. Raulzinho is a brazilian jazz trombonist and multi instrumentalist coming from Rio de Janeiro, one of the greatest player of his generation, who started as professional player at the age of 20 alongside Baden Powell. In 1964, he was recruited by Sérgio Mendes in his Bossa Rio group‎ for Você Ainda Não Ouviu Nada!, also known as The Beat of Brazil album, and later, evolved in the american jazz fusion group, Caldera. This versatile musician has played as well as in jazz, soul, funk & even disco ('Til Tomorrow Comes, released in 1979). During the seventies, he has recorded for various brazilian latin jazz artists such as, A. C. Jobim, Flora Purim, Airto Moreira, Milton Nascimento or Hermeto Pascoal, but also for some renowned american jazz musicians as Sonny Rollins (Nucleus - 1975) or Cal Tjader (Amazonas - 1976), and invited to play with Jimmy Smith & Sarah Vaughan. In 1975, with the Colors' album (produced by Airto), he embraces an international career, signed on Milestone & Capitol Records, released two albums produced by George Duke : Sweet Lucy and Don't Ask My Neighbors (1977-1978). Titles include the club killer Two Beat Manchild (Mundo Louco), the international pop hits Spinning Wheel & You've Made Me So Very Happy, the funkiest I've Got The Feelin', the jazz standards Fried Bananas, Mercy, Mercy, Mercy & Cantalope Island. All tracks are arranged by Bill Vogel & Raulzinho.

Robertinho Silva_drums
Frederico_guitar, violin
Hélio Celso_organ, piano
Oberdan Magalhães_saxophone, flute
Bill Vogel, Sérgio_trumpet

01. Tesouro De São Miguel
02. Spinning Wheel (Vida Torta)
03. Boogaloo Bill No. 2
04. Two Beat Manchild (Mundo Louco)
05. Fried Bananas
06. You've Made Me So Very Happy
07. Mercy, Mercy, Mercy
08. Hello Monalisa
09. Cantalope Island
10. I've Got The Feelin'
11. Slick
12. Tesouro De São Miguel

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...