Wednesday, June 1, 2011

Jimmy McGriff - Electric Funk

Year : 1969
Label : Blue Note
Genre : Jazz
Style : Soul Jazz, Funk/Soul

The grooviest album of one organ master recorded in association with Horace Ott, featuring Stanley Turrentine, Blue Mitchell and studio drummer Bernard Purdie. One of the most Jazz album sampled which include huge grooves Back on The Track and cover pop Spinning Wheel. Tracks 1 to 3, 7 & 9 composed by Horace Ott, 4 to 6 by Jimmy McGriff. Produced by Sonny Lester, all tracks arranged by Horace Ott.

Jimmy McGriff_organ
Horace Ott_electric piano
Bernard Purdie_drums
Blue Mitchell_trumpet
Stanley Turrentine_tenor saxophone
01. Back On The Track
02. Chris Cross
03. Miss Poopie
04. The Bird Wave
05. Spear For Moondog, Part 1
06. Spear For Moondog, Part 2
07. Tight Times
08. Spinning Wheel (D.C. Thomas)
09. Funky Junk
Post a Comment
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...