Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Azimüth (Self-Titled)

Year : 2015/1975
Label : Far Out Recordings/Som Livre
Genre : Jazz, Latin
Style : MPB, Jazz Funk, Samba, Latin Jazz

One of the best brazilian jazz group whose the name "Azimuth" inspired by a song from Marcos & Paulo Sérgio Valle, a jazz-funk trio formed in 1973 by Jose Roberto Bertrami, Alex Malheiros and Ivan Conti. The group started as "Conjunto Azimuth" on the soundtrack of brazilian movie "O Fabuloso Fittipaldi" alongside Marcos & Paulo Sergio Valle, and the same year, as backing band for Marcos on his "Previsão Do Tempo" album. The group engaged in the post-tropicalia era with their self-titled debut album in 1975, mixing samba funk & disco beats, influencing in the same time, the nascent Black Rio movement. Always actives today, the band has gained an international audience with "Águia Não Come Mosca" album (released on Atlantic, first record of the band released outside Brazil), a noticeable appearance at the Montreux Jazz Festival '77 and by participating to the U.S. tour of Airto Moreira and Flora Purim. Then, they moved to the United States in the early eighties, by signing on Milestone Records in 1979. Titles include their pop hit "Linha Do Horizonte", the songs "Manhã" (remixed by Peanut Butter Wolf in 2007), "Esperando Minha Vez" (sampled by Joey Bada$$ in "Amethyst Rockstar" - 2013) and the killer jazz rock track "Periscópio".

José Roberto Bertrami_piano, organ, synthesizer, bells
José Alexandre Malheiros_bass, guitar, vocals
Ivan C. Miguel Conti_drums, percussions
João Américo_guitar, percussion, vocals
Ariovaldo Contesini_percussions
Marcio Lott_vocals 

01. Linha Do Horizonte
02. Melô Dos Dois Bicudos
03. Brazil
04. Faça De Conta
05. Caça A Raposa
06. Estrada Dos Deuses
07. Esperando Minha Vez
08. Montreal City
09. Manhã
10. Periscópio

Post a Comment
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...