Wednesday, December 2, 2015

George Otsuka Quintet - Sea Breeze

Year : 1971
Label : Union/Teichiku Records
Serie : Young Generation Music
Genre : Jazz
Style : Hard Bop, Modal, Jazz Funk

Masterpiece of Hard Bop/Modal Jazz by George Otsuka Quintet featuring Hideo Ichikawa, Takashi Mizuhashi, Takao Uematsu & Shunzo Ohno. George plays with his regular pianist, since 1965, in charge of all compositions (except The Beatles song), to the point of wondering whether Sea Breeze would not rather a Ichikawa's project. The young Shunzo Ohno completes the formation and demonstrates, at just 22 years, that he's one of best japanese jazz trumpeter from his generation. Sea Breeze includes a variety of styles, with cool & mellow atmosphere, centered around the Fender rhodes, associated to funky rhythms (Potato Chips) & Hard Bop (Jumping cats), Modal (Fool On The Hill), gospel & spiritual styles (Cannibal).

George Otsuka_drums
Hideo Ichikawa_electric piano 
Takashi Mizuhashi_bass
Takao Uematsu_tenor, soprano saxophone
Shunzo Ohno_trumpet, flugelhorn

01. Sea Breeze
02. Fool On The Hill
03. Cannibal
04. Potato Chips
05. Jumping Cats

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...