Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Sérgio Mendes & Brasil '66 - Stillness

Year : 1970
Label : A&M Records
Genre : Jazz, Latin Jazz
Style : MPB, Samba, Bossa Nova

Stillness is a concept album resulting the fusion between the Latin Beat & Pop Music, the 7th and last album recorded by Sérgio Mendes with his Brasil '66 group (featuring american saxophonist Tom Scott), before be renamed it the Brasil '77. The original band was formed in 1966, under initiative of Richard Adler & Herb Alpert, to found a band able to sing in English as well as Portuguese, in order to better suit the American music market & of its public (their first success was the single Mas Que Nada by Jorge Ben). Titles include an alternating of brazilian songs from Gilberto Gil (Viramundo), Caetano Veloso (Lost In Paradise), Celebration Of The Sunrise by the Oscar Castro-Neves/Sebastião Neto duo, folk/rock songs from Joni Mitchell (Chelsea Morning), Blood Sweet & Tears (Sometimes In Winter) and some others pop sounds tunes composed by Paula Stone. All tracks produced by Herb Alpert & Sérgio Mendes, orchestrated by Dick Hazard (Righteous Life & Sometimes In Winter) & Thomas W. Scott (Lost In Paradise).

Sérgio Mendes_piano, vocals
Gracinha Leporace_introducing, vocals
Michael Lang_piano
Oscar Castro-Neves_guitar
Joe Osborn_bass
Tom Scott_flute
Mark Stevens_drums
Lani Hall & Karen Philipp_vocals

01. Stillness
02. Righteous Life
03. Chelsea Morning
04. Cancao Do Nosso Amor
05. Viramundo
06. Lost In Paradise
07. For What It's Worth
08. Sometimes In Winter
09. Celebration Of The Sunrise
10. Stillness

Post a Comment
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...