Monday, May 18, 2009

Sadao Watanabe - Round Trip

Year : 1970
Label : CBS/Sony
Genre : Jazz
Style : Contempory Jazz, Free Improvisations, Hard Bop, Post Bop
Website :

Sadao Watanabe is one most famous Japanese Jazz Giant, saxophonist, multi-instrumentalist arranger & composer best known as the man who introduced Bossa Nova in Japan. He's surrounded by great musicians featuring some great sideman for Miles Davis : Chick Corea, Miroslav Vitous & Jack DeJohnette. In 1962, Sadao moved to Boston to study at the Berklee College of Music and later played with Chico Hamilton, Gary McFarland, Lee Ritenour, Dave Grusin or Hank Jones. Then he explored music all over the world reflecting his Brazilian & African inspirations on his work to become the japanese representative of Bossa Nova and and more broadly of World Music as Joe Zawinul. In 1967, Sadao recorded two Latin Jazz albums with Charlie Mariano, Iberian Waltz/Nabesada & Charlie and the following year, We Got A New Bag with various Indian influences.  All tracks composed, arranged by Sadao & produced by Kiyoshi Itoh.

Sadao Watanabe_saxophone
Chick Corea_piano
Miroslav Vitous_bass
Jack DeJohnette_drums

01. Round Trip : Going & Coming
02. Nostargia
03. Pastoral
04. Sao Paulo


Friday, May 8, 2009

Takeshi Inomata & Sound L.T.D. - Sounds Of Sound L.T.D.

Year : 1970
Label : Nippon Columbia
Serie : Groovy Sound Series
Genre : Jazz
Style : Jazz Rock, Psychedelic
Website :

Essential, unforgettable & most valuable rare groove LP, Sounds Of Sound L.T.D. is a classic from the Japanese Jazz Rock scene, recorded by the great jazz drummer, Takeshi Inomata. Inomata is one of the best known japanese jazz musicians, born into a musical family, who, under the influence of his brother and after have heard the Gene Krupa performance on Sing, Sing, Sing by Benny Goodman, decided him to become professional drummer. In the early sixties, he was enrolled in the Hidehiko Matsumoto Quintet, played several times for Helen Merrill (In Tokyo '63, Plaisir D'amour '69, Sings The Beatles '70), with Teddy Wilson, Hiroshi Suzuki, in the Mal Waldron Trio and later, was sideman for pianist Norio Maeda (in groups Norio Maeda Trio, The Wind-Breakers in 1978). In the late sixties, he formed The Sound Limited Jazz Rock group based on his previous band, The West Liners, with some of its members featuring Toshiaki Yokota, Jun Suzuki, Ryo Kawasaki, Takashi Imai & the young Shunzo Ohno. Titles includes psychedelic grooves, Big Band sessions, great solo flute, organ & drum strong beat on Mustache (which ends by the Hey Jude chorus), the massive and dynamic funky Joint, the psychedelic rock Tak's Tune and the melodic jazz, Monster.

Takeshi Inomata_drums
Jun Suzuki_bass
Ryo Kawasaki & Shigenori Kamiya_guitar
Yusuke Hoguchi_organ
Toshiaki Yokota_flute
Takao Uematsu_saxophone
Shunzo Ohno & Takashi Kumagai_trumpet
Shigemichi Domoto & Takashi Imai_trombone

01. Theme/Mustache
02. Tak's Tune
03. Joint
04. Monster
05. Lullaby For Yuh
06. scotland Scene
07. Theme


Friday, May 1, 2009

Sonia Rosa With Yuji Ohno - Spiced With Brazil

Year : 1974
Label : CBS/Sony
Genre : Jazz, Latin Jazz
Style : Pop, Samba, Bossa Nova, MPB

Sonia Rosa recorded her first album with Chiquinho De Moraes in 1967, before she left Brazil for Japan at the age of 20 years old, Spice With Brazil is her best-known album. She had the opportunity to sing on various Yuji Ohno's albums as Space Kid (1978) and more recently, on original soundtrack of TV Special 'Lupin III Episode 0 First Contact' (2002), whose some songs will appear later on Lupin The Third [JAZZ] : Bossa & Fusion album. She's surrounded by a large ensemble of musicians featuring future members of You & The Explosion Band (Akira Okazawa, Larry Sunaga, Pepe Anai, Tsunehide Matsuki), plus backing vocals supported by Time Five. To approximate the typical sound of the famous Bossa Nova productions released under the Verve label during the sixties, Ohno recruited a set of string instruments gathered in the Ohno Group and conducted by himself. Titles include classics of Bossa Nova from Antonio Carlos Jobim, Luiz Bonfa, Chico Buarque & Edu Lobo, jazz standard of Jimmy Van Heusen (Here's That Rainy Day) and pop covers by James Taylor (Don't Let Me Be Lonely Tonight) and Linda Creed (You Make Me Feel Brand New). Others titles include also some solo performances by Tsuyoshi Yamamoto with great piano improvisations, alongside Ohno, on the classic of Edu Lobo, Casa Forte (and Sonia Rosa's scat singing likewise). All tracks arranged and conducted by Yuji Ohno except Chove Là Fora by Sonia Rosa.

Sonia Rosa_vocal, guitar
Yuji Ohno_keyboards
Tsuyoshi Yamamoto_acoustic piano (track 6)
Akira Okazawa_electric bass
Isoo Fukui_acoustic bass
Takao Naoi_Gut & folk guitar
Tsunehide Matsuki_electric guitar (tracks 3 & 8)
Kazuyoshi Okayama_drums
Larry Sunaga, Pepe Anai & Fujio Saitoh_latin percussion  
Keiko Yamakawa_harp
Gaishi Ishibashi_oboe

01. Garota De Ipanema
02. Here's That Rainy Day
03. Don't Let Me Be Lonely Tonight
04. Secret Love
05. Corcovado
06. Casa Forte
07. Atras Da Porta
08. You Make Me Feel Brand New
09. Chove Là Fora

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...