Tuesday, January 6, 2009

Hiroshi Fukumura With Sadao Watanabe - Hunt Up Wind

Year : 1980/1978
Label : Inner City Records/Flying Disk
Genre : Jazz, Latin
Style : Jazz Funk, Disco, Smooth Jazz, Caribean

Originally released on Flying Disk in 1978, reissued for US by Inner City Records, "Hunt Up Wind" was recorded in Tokyo by the Japanese trombone player Hiroshi Fukumura associated to saxophonist Sadao Watanabe and arranger Hiromasa Suzuki. Hiroshi Fukumura recruited some of the best american musicians from the Jazz Fusion scene, in order to produce an essential Japanese Jazz Funk album including a rhythm section featuring Harvey Mason from The Headhunters, Chuck Rainey, Cornell Dupree (guitarist for james Brown), Don Grusin & Paulinho Da Costa. Titles include Jazz Funk tunes with disco beats (Hunt Up Wind, Captain Caribe), Caribbean's rhythms (Jongo, Mr. Blue) and Bossa Nova (Pra Dizer Adeus by Edu Lobo). All tracks arranged by Hiromasa 'Colgen' Suzuki except Pogo by Sadao Watanabe, Hunt Up Wind, Jongo & White Clouds were composed by Hiroshi Fukumura, Captain Caribe & That's Enough For Me composed by Don Grusin.

Hiroshi Fukumura_trombone
Sadao Watanabe_alto saxophone, sopranino saxophone & flute
Don Grusin_keyboards
Cornell Dupree_guitar
Chuck Rainey_bass
Harvey Mason_drums
Paulinho Da Costa_percussion
01. Hunt Up Wind
02. That's Enough For Me
03. Jongo
04. Mr. Blue
05. Pogo
06. White Clouds
07. Captain Caribe
08. To Say Goodbye (Pra Dizer Adeus)

Post a Comment
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...