Monday, November 24, 2008

Earth Wind And Fire (Self-Titled)

Year : 1970
Label : Warner
Genre : Soul, Jazz
Style : Psychedelic Soul, Funk

The debut album by one of most great funk band of all the time, released in 1970, contains some of the best compositions from the group. The lineup is quite different from the one that became famous during the mid-1970's, indeed this first formation of the group will be disbanded in 1971, after their third album called "Energy". The leader Maurice White, stay just behind the drums, blending his vocals to the group. The same year, the group recorded also the soundtrack for the best known blaxploitation film  "Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song", starring & directed by Melvin Van Peebles. The music is likewise very different, more Psychedelic Soul, compared to the sound which made them famous in the boogie funk-disco style. All songs arranged by Earth, Wind & Fire, all songs written & composed Maurice White, Wade Flemons, Don Whitehead except C'mon Children & Bad Tune with Michael Beale/Verdine Adams.

Maurice White_drums, percussion, kalimba, vocals 
Verdine Adams_bass
Michael Beale_guitar
Phillard Williams_percussion, congas
Don Whitehead_piano, electric piano
Chester Washington_reeds
Alex Thomas_trombone
Leslie Drayton_trumpet
Sherry Scott_vocals
Wade Flemons_vocals, electric piano

01. Help Somebody
02. Moment of Truth
03. Love Is Life
04. Fan the Fire
05. C'mon Children
06. This World Today
07. Bad Tune
Post a Comment
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...