Monday, April 28, 2014

Various - Nippon Girls : Japanese Pop, Beat & Bossa Nova 1967-1969

Year : 2013
Label : Big Beat International
Genre : Rock, Pop, Jazz
Style : Bossa Nova, Beat

'Groovy girl pop from the land of the Rising Sun' : sweet sugar pop & Rock&Roll spirit from the Far-East compiled by Sheila Burgel for Big Beat International. It brings together some of killer songs performed by the queens of the GS music (for 'Group Sounds') in twelve incredible tracks released between 1967 to 1968 for Victor, Nippon Columbia, Capitol, Philips & King Records labels. The GS music was a japanese rock genre which introduced the japanese pop in a modern era. This movement was directly inspired by the US Rock, British Pop and the Rhythm&Blues. The GS known a great success in the mid-sixties, in particular thanks to the pianist, arranger & songwritter, Kunihiko Suzuki who composed several hits of japanese pop featuring Jun Mayuzumi, Sayuri Yoshinaga or Mika Nohira. Titles include rock songs (Black Room, Sharock No.1, Kiiro No Sekai), Jazz tracks (Peacock Baby,  Watashi No Inori) and Brazilian Pop/Bossa Nova tunes (Tsukikage No Rendezvous,  Ame Agari No Samba). A enhanced double CD edition have been released the previous year with 25 tracks (whose the songs presented here) and recorded between 1966-1970.

01. Black Room / Jun Mayuzumi
02. Sharock No. 1 / Mie Nakao  
03. Tsukikage No Rendezvous /  Keiko Mari
04. Kiiro No Sekai /  J Girls 
05. Peacock Baby / Reiko Ohara 
06. Nagisa No Tenshi / Mieko Hirota   
07. Watashi No Inori  / Rumi Koyama 
08. Suki Sa Suki Sa Suki Sa / Nana Kinomi & Leo Beats  
09. Hatsu Koi No Letter  / Miki Obata
10. Ame Agari No Samba / Ryoko Moriyama 
11. Taiyou Wa Naite Iru  / Ayumi Ishida 
12. Koi No Yorokobi / Sayuri Yoshinaga With Schoolmates


Yuji Ohno - Lupin The 3rd TV BGM Collection Vol. 2

Year : 1981
Label : Nippon Columbia
Genre : Jazz, Stage & Screen
Style : Jazz Funk, Smooth Jazz

Part 2 of the TV Original Soundtrack BGM Collection serie, recorded for the fourth and final season from Lupin The 3rd animated serie, broadcasted between 1979-1980. This compilation includes new recordings of the first tracks made for the season 1977-1978 (Midnight Chasers & Active Guys), unreleased & alternative takes but also several songs composed for the Cagliostro No Shiro movie (1979), later gathered in two compilations released in 1983 & 1994. All tracks composed & arranged by Yuji Ohno, performed by You & The Explosion Band.

Side A                                                                   
01. Lupinland (On The Sunny Street)                                                           
02. A Fogcircle                                                        
03. Run! Run! Run! The Game Of Chase (Midnight Chasers - 1977)              
04. A Man's Man                                                   
05. Christal So Christal                                             
06. Nightmare                                                          
07. Teardrops                                                          
08. Dangerous Temptation (Active Guys M9 - 1977)                                 
09. Darkness And Shadow                                
10. Don't Be Shy, Zenigata

Side B
01. Lupin In The Trap
02. The Memory Of Mysterious Journey
03. Strange Sensation
04. Fire Treasure (instrumental version)
05. Sneakin'
06. Lone Wolf
07. Uncanny Night
08. Leave You (instrumental version)

Chris Joss - Sticks

Year : 2009
Label : Eighteenth Street Lounge Music
Genre : Electronic, Funk/Soul, Jazz, Pop
Style : Acid Jazz, Downtempo, Soul Jazz, Psychedelic Moods

Fifth album from french multi-instrumentalist & DJ, Chris Joss featuring german saxophonist Praful, norwegian pianist Alexander Von Mehren (vibraphone) & Cosmika (voices). Sticks is a instrumental album inspired by the sixties era with Soul Jazz/Funk & Pyschedelic influences. The distinct oriental sound hovers on the entire album with the frequent use of sitar performed by Chris Joss which is also in charge of all others instruments plus computer effects. Chris take us to a psychedelic trip thanks to a organic sound & the emphasis placed on percussions and the drums. Titles include pure dancing tracks, funky sounds & pop grooves served by psych' organ, sitar associated to wah wah guitar. All tracks composed & produced by Chris Joss.

01. Little Nature
02. Surrounded
03. Charmer
04. Danger Buds
05. Rififi Rococco
06. Root Juice
07. Melisma Mercury Feat. Praful
08. Night Scare Feat. Cosmika
09. Tune Down
10. Zingy Twangs Feat. Cosmika
11. A Soft Reprise
12. Tea Age Sea Feat. Alexander Von Mehren
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...