Wednesday, January 8, 2014

Be Hard Bop - Be Hard Bop For Mademoiselle H

Mixtape specially compiled with love for Mademoiselle H, a selection of some her favorites New Wave & alternative rock songs released between 1978-2011, featuring New Order, Joy Division, The Cure, Metric, CSS & many more...

Compiled & Mixed by Be Hard Bop

Tuesday, January 7, 2014

Marcos Valle - Garra

Year : 1971
Label : Odeon
Genre : Jazz, Latin
Style : MPB, Funk/Soul, Bossa Nova

Garra is the anticonformist 'Bossa Soul' album of Marcos including funk grooves and sublime pop tunes. Garra is the quintessence of Brazilian Pop, one of the most influential album on the contemporary Brazilian music, and probably one of the best MPB album of all the time, a sophisticated blend of various elements : from Jazz to Bossa Nova by British Rock. Marcos is supported by arrangers Geraldo Vespar, Orlando Silveira & Cesar Camargo Mariano, and surround by a rhythm section including renowed skilled musicians as the  pianist Dom Salvador, Capacete, Robertinho Silva among others. Titles includes some Bossa tunes as Com Mais De 30, Ao Amigo Tom & Paz e Futebol (Peace & Soccer), the Soul ballad Black Is Beautiful feat. Marizinha, the hybrid song Garra, the funky Wandal Vidal & the gospel song O Cafona. All tracks written by Marcos & Paulo Sérgio Valle except Ao Amigo Tom and Que Bandeira respectively written by Osmar Milito & Mariozinho Rocha. Recorded at Odeon studios in Rio De Janeiro.

Marcos Valle_vocal & piano
Dom Salvador_organ & piano
Geraldo Vespar_guitar on Wanda Vidal
Robertinho Silva_drums

01. Jesus Meu Rei
02. Com Mais De 30
03. Garra
04. Black Is Beautiful
05. Ao Amigo Tom
06. Paz E Futebol
07. Que Bandeira
08. Wanda Vidal
09. Minha Voz Virá Do Sol Da América
10. Vinte E Seis Anos De Vida Normal
11. O Cafona

Terumasa Hino Quintet - Hakuchu No Shugeki (Original Soundtrack)

Year : 2011
Label : Disk Union
Serie : Ciné Jazz
Genre : Jazz, Stage & Screen
Style : Post Bop, Hard Bop, Jazz Funk, Free Improvisations

Original Rare Groove Soundtrack from the japanese cult Toho action movie, Hakuchu No Shugeki. Released in 1970, the movie was directed by an aficionado of Jazz, Kiyoshi Nishimura and starring Toshio Kurosawa in the lead role. Dated from 1969, the big hit Snake Hip and its b side Hakuchu No Shugeki - Theme was released by Nippon Columbia but the complete music files of the original score had never been edited. The music was performed by the Terumasa Hino Quintet featuring Takeru Muraoka, Hiromasa Suzuki, Kunimitsu Inaba & Motohiko Hino. Titles include in particular, Snake Hip in extented version called On The Corner, the funky Supermarket and the Free Jazz Getaway. All tracks composed & arranged by Terumasa Hino.

Terumasa Hino_trumpet
Takeru Muraoka_tenor saxophone, flute
Hiromasa Suzuki_piano, Fender Rhodes
Kunimitsu Inaba_double bass, electric bass
Motohiko Hino_drums

01. Opening
02. On The Corner (Snake Hip)
03. Hakuchu No Shugeki
04. The Sea
05. Pistol
06. Telephone
07. Cab
08. Footsteps
09. Blues
10. Fellow
11. Sanbashi No Trumpet
12. Shinya No Machi
13. Johnny No Fune
14. Getaway


Yuji Ohno - Mad Police '80

Year : 1993
Label : VAP
Genre : Jazz, Stage & Screen
Style : Jazz Funk, Disco, Pop, Electronic Moods

Mad Police'80 (Daigekito Mad Police) was a Nippon Cop TV serie of 26 episodes ranked in the Hard Boiled genre which started in april 1980 and produced by the TOEI corporation. Recorded in 1979, Mad Police '80 is among the best original soundtrack made by Yuji Ohno, one more surrounded by his Disco Jazz Funk band You & The Explosion Band featuring Kiyoshi SugimotoTsunehide MatsukiMichio NagaokaSusumu KazuharaYuichi Tokashiki & Yasushi Ichihara plus additionals musicians and full string orchestra. Titles include over thirty tracks in several variations, the openning & ending theme (Theme From Daigekito & How Can You Love The City featuring Noboru Kimura). All tracks are composed & arranged by Yuji Ohno.

Yuji Ohno_keyboards
Michio Nagaoka_bass
Tsunehide Matsuki_electric guitar
Kiyoshi Sugimoto_accoustic guitar
Yuichi Tokashiki Yasushi Ichihara_drums
Susumu Kazuhara_trumpet

And Others...

01. Theme From Daigekito (TV Size) Opening
02. Japan Mafia
03. Mad Police
04. Illusion Of Mad City
05. Theme From Daigekito (Ballad Version)
06. Big Battle
07. Theme From Daigekito
08. How Can You Love The City
09. How Can You Love The City (TV Size)
10. How Can You Love The City
11. Theme From Daigekito


Jurassic 5 - Quality Control

Year : 2000
Label : Interscope
Genre : Hip-Hop
Style : Jazzy Hip-Hop, Conscious
Website :

Influenced by Old School Hip Hop including  A Tribe Called Quest, De La Soul or The Roots, Jurassic 5 are also known as one of first Hip-Hop band to mention their samples. In June 2000, Jurassic 5 enters the light after the excellent Jurassic 5' EP released three years earlier and before their peak with Power In Numbers (2002). The same good ingredients : Jazz vibes mixed with conscious lyrics in the cut of the turnabilists DJ Nu-Mark and Cut Chemist, featuring rappers Chali 2na, Zaakir (Soup), Akil & Marc 7. Titles include Great Expectations, Lausd, Monkey Bars, The Game and the tribute to Jazz, Swing Set by Cut Chemist & DJ Nu-Mark. Produced & mixed by DJ Nu-Mark and Cut Chemist, recorded by Cut Chemist, Mark Ellis & Stefan Neary.

01. How We Get Along (Intro)
02. The Influence
03. Great Expectations
04. Quality Control (Intro)
05. Quality Control
06. Contact
07. Lausd
08. World Of Entertainment (W.O.E. Is Me)
09. Monkey Bars
10. Jurass Finish First
11. Contribution
12. Twelve
13. The Game
14. Concrete And Clay
15. Swing Set
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...