Friday, December 27, 2013

Nico Gomez And His Afro Percussion Inc. ‎– Ritual

Year : 1971
Label : Omega
Genre : Jazz, Latin Jazz
Style : Jazz Funk, Psychedelic Moods, Afro Cuban Jazz

Straight out from the darkness by many bloggers, this obscure LP was recorded by Nico Gomez and released on Dutch label Omega, an album in the same spirit of Paris Soul by french Lido's Orchestra Ben & The Platano Group : the Afro Latin Funk style. Under the pseudonym of Nico Gomez hides Joseph Van Het Groenewoud, an Dutch-Belgian composer and a big band leader who was active between the fifties and the seventies, best known for composed several songs for the belgian Latin Funk band, the Chakakas (remember the sexy song Jungle fever in Paul Thomas Anderson' film Boogie Night). The sound approaches that could produce such artists from New York label Fania Records and the group Fania All Stars (Ray Barretto was a member), adding drumbreaks, psych' organ/guitar and powerful percussion all served with spanish lyrics. Titles include two covers from the king of Mambo, the cuban Pérez Prado, Caballo Negro & the funky Mambo Lupita, five of his own compositions as the dancefloor 'Salsa' killer Cuba Libre, Jobim' One Note Samba and reprise of Chakakas, Eso Es El Amor. All tracks arranged & conducted by Nico Gomez.

01. Caballo Negro
02. Naci Para Bailar
03. Cuba Libre
04. Samba De Una Nota So
05. Baila Chibiquiban
06. El Condor Pasa
07. Lupita
08. Pa! Pa! Pa! Pa!
09. Ritual


Jimmy Takeuchi & His Exciters - Tenshi No Yūwaku

Year : 1969
Label : Toshiba Records
Serie : Drum Drum Drum Series
Genre : Jazz, Pop
Style : Surf Music, Rock, Jerk

Original issue from the Toshiba' Drum Drum Drum Series, the most wanted (1st pressing in red LP) of Tenshi No Yūwaku (Temptations Of Angels) featuring Jimmy Takeuchi & His Exciters with the arranger Kunihiko Suzuki. Titles include the greatest hits of the Japanese GS movement out in 1968, among cover songs by rock bands as The Tigers (Flower Necklace), The Tempters (Please, God), The Golden Cups (Girl With Long Hair), The Folk Crusaders (Unbearably Sad) or The Wild Ones (Bara No Koibito), Pop singers as the Angel Love of Jun Mayuzumi (Kunihiko Suzuki' composition), Yukari Ito' Drops Of Love, the Secret Love of Tomoko Ogawa. Also included the Soul Jazz standard Alligator Boogaloo by Lou Donaldson, Beatles' cover Lady Madona and Pata Pata by Miriam Makeba. All tracks arranged by Kunihiko Suzuki.

01. Tenshi No Yūwaku (Temptations Of Angels/Angel Love)
02. Hana No Kubikazari (Flower Necklace)
03. Kamisama Onegai (Please, God)
04. Bara No Koibito
05. Yūbe No Himitsu (A Secret Evening)
06. Koi No Shizuku (Drops Of Love)
07. Alligator Boogaloo
08. Pata Pata
09. Lady Madona
10. Hakuchō No Uta
11. Kanashikute Yarikirenai (Unbearably Sad)
12. Nagai Kami No Shōjo (Girl With Long Hair)


Takeshi Inomata & Sound Limited - Drum Battle : Rock Now

Year : 1972
Label : RCA-Victor
Genre : Jazz
Style : Jazz Rock, Funk/Soul, Psychedelic Moods, Pop

Ultra Rare Jazz Rock Psych' LP from DYNAGROOVE series released for RCA-Victor label, the  battle of drum is the meeting between Takeshi Inomata and three others japanese drummers :  Masao Suzuki (not to be confused with saxophonist Masao Suzuki), Seiji Tanaka & Chito Kawachi. They are involved in the Inomata' Jazz Rock band, The Sound Limited, featuring Kimio Mizutani and Makoto 'Jun' Suzuki plus horns section (probably with saxophonist Jake H. Concepcion), all conducted by arranger Norio Maeda. Titles include as well as covers from Rock'N'Roll of Deep Purple (Black Night), Chase (Get It On), The Rolling Stones (Tumbling Dice), from Soul as Theme From Shaft by Stax Soul hero Isaac Hayes or also the Latin Rock Black Magic Woman by Santana (first recorded by Peter Green). All tracks conducted & arranged by Norio Maeda.

Takeshi Inomata_drums
Masao Suzuki, Seiji Tanaka & Chito Kawachi_drums
Jun Suzuki_bass 
Kimio Mizutani_guitar
Yusuke Hoguchi_organ

01. Black Night
02. Proud Mary
03. It's Going To Take Some Time
04. Make Me Smile
05. Theme From Shaft
06. Eli's Coming
07. Get It On
08. Spinning Wheel
09. Tumbling Dice
10. Black Magic Woman


Marcos Valle - Previsão Do Tempo

Year : 1973
Label : Odeon
Genre : Jazz, Latin Jazz
Style : MPB, Jazz Funk, Electronic, Bossa Nova

Considered as his best album with the sublime GarraPrevisão Do Tempo is more a Jazz Funk album as Herbie Hancock & his The Headhunters know how to do, than his two previous albums. The Fender Rhodes and synthesizer are predominant all along  "Previsão Do Tempo" which representative of the versatile style of Valle, for each album, a new sound). As always his brother Paolo Sergio is involved in the songwriting but also Joao Donato and Eumir Deodato who collaborated on Não Tem Nada Não. Marcos is surrounded by the future famous brazilian Jazz Funk band, Azymuth featuring José Roberto Bertrami, Alex Malheiros and Ivan Conti  as well as O Terço, for the second time after the "Vento Sul" album. Titles include the Jazz Funk songs "Nem Paletó, Nem Gravata" & "Mentira" (favourite Jazz Dance Club) and the Bossa Nova tunes "Flamengo Até Morrer" feat. O Terço, "Os Ossos Do Barão", "Samba Fatal" & "Moça Flor". Orchestrated, conducted & arranged by Zé Roberto, Marcos (Flamengo Até Morrer & Samba Fatal) and Walter Branco (Os Ossos Do Barão).

Marcos Valle_vocals, Fender Rhodes, guitar
José Roberto Bertrami_Arp Strings, organ, synthesizers
Alex Malheiros & César De Mercês_bass
Sérgio Hinds_guitar
Ivan Conti & Vinicius Cantuaria_drums

01. Flamengo Até Morrer    
02. Nem Paletó, Nem Gravata    
03. Tira A Mão    
04. Mentira    
05. Previsão Do Tempo (Instrumental)   
06. Mais Do Que Valsa    
07. Os Ossos Do Barão    
08. Não Tem Nada Não    
09. Não Tem Nada Não (Instrumental)    
10. Samba Fatal    
11. Tiu-Ba-La-Quieba    
12. De Repente, Moça Flor

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...