Saturday, May 24, 2014

Be Hard Bop - Samurai Champloo Music Record : The Sons Of A Battlecry

This compilation attemps to gather some best compositions from the Samurai Champloo Soundtrack. Samurai Champloo is one of the best japanese animated serie from the 2000s, directed by Shinichiro Watanabe (also director of famous the Cowboy Bebop serie), produced by the Studio Manglobe, was first broadcasted in 2004 on FUJI TV. To create the perfect soundscape, Manglobe has recruited some of the finest japanese producers & beatmakers featuring Nujabes, the electronic duo, FORCE OF NATURE (KZA & DJ Kent), Tsutchie, former member of Shakkazombie, and Fat Jon from the american Hip-Hop band Five Deez. All are surrounded by rappers as Shing02 (in charge of the opening), Suiken & S-Word from Nitro Microphone Underground or also Azuma Riki from Small Circle Of Friends. Four volumes have been released to date & one compilation especially produced for US.

Compiled & Mixed by Be Hard Bop

Marcos Valle (Self-Titled)

Year : 1970
Label : Odeon
Genre : Jazz, Latin
Style : Bossa Nova, MPB, Psychedelic Pop

Marcos Valle '70 is best known as 'The Bed Album' which firmly established the maestro in the International Pop music initiate by Samba '68. Following his previous LP (Mustang Cor de Sangue - 1969) announcing a psychedelic approach and his protest years, Marcos Valle '70 incorporates Rock & Soul music, probably influenced by The Beatles' legacy and a trip across the US in the year of 1966, where he discovered the 'Black Music'. He's evolved over 10 years in Bossa Nova since his first album, Samba Demais (1963) and contributed to its success with his latin standards as evidenced the cover songs Summer Samba (Samba De Verão) or Os Grilos, before turning to fusion forms of sophisticated pop  & rhythms to brazilian accent.

Marcos, as always surrounded by his brother Sergio plus his sister Ângela, recruits the progressive brazilian rock group Som Imaginário featuring Wagner Tiso, Tavito, Luiz Alves & Robertinho Silva. Some guests & friends musicians are also present as the brazilian quartet, Golden Boys and the arrangers Leonardo Bruno, Orlando Silveira. All are supported by strings & brass ensemble.

Titles include finest pop tunes as Quarentão Simpático & the protest song Dez Leis, new recording of Os Grilos, the latin typical, Esperando O Messias, the ballad Que eu Canse E Descanse, some cinematic moods with Freio Aerodinâmico, the instrumentals Ele E Ela, the Big Band style of Pigmalião & the experimental baroque suite Suíte Imaginária.  All songs written by the duo Marcos/Sergio except Pigmalião with Novelli & tracks 2, 7, 9 written by Marcos Valle only.

  • Ele E Ela was sampled by Jay Z on Thank You from The Blue Print 3 (2009)
  • Dez Leis is also named as Is That Law
  • Pigmalião also written Pigmalião '70
  • Os Grilos is also kown as Crickets Sing For Anamaria on Braziliance!Samba '68
  • Suite Imaginária is divided in four parts : Canção, Corrente, Toada & Dança

Marcos Valle_vocals & piano
Ângela Valle_vocals
Nelson Ângelo_guitar

Som Imaginário :

Wagner Tiso_keyboards
Luiz Alves_bass
Robertinho Silva_drums

01. Quarentão Simpático
02. Ele E Ela
03. Dez Leis
04. Pigmalião
05. Que Eu Canse E Descanse
06. Esperando O Messias feat. Golden Boys
07. Freio Aerodinâmico
08. Os Grilos
09. Suíte Imaginária

Count Buffalo & The Jazz Rock Band - Soul & Rock

Year : 1969
Label : Denon
Genre : Jazz
Style : Jazz Rock, Modal, Free Improvisations, Psychedelic

Free Jazz Rock album with covers and originals compositions recorded by the Count Buffalo band, precursor of the Japanese Progressive Jazz Rock genre featuring Masahiko Satō & Hiromasa Suzuki. The first album of Akira Ishikawa under  Count Buffalo nickname who was active since the mid-fifties as percussionist and probably the most famous jazz drummer alongside Motohiko Hino, Takeshi Inomata & George Kawaguchi. Each track contains some free forms of Jazz & psychedelic rock including two classics from The Beatles, the Motown cult song, I'm Gonna Make You Love Me which was performed by The Supremes & Marvin Gay, the negro spiritual Deep River, two compositions of Masahiko Satō The Cougar & No More Than A Drop.

Akira Ishikawa_drums
Masaoki Terakawa_bass
Masahiko Satō_piano
Hiromasa Suzuki_electric piano
Kiyoshi Sugimoto_guitar
Takeru Muraoka_saxophone

01. The Cougar
02. I'm Gonna Make You Love Me
03. Michelle
04. Green Sleeves
05. The Sandpiper
06. No More Than A Drop
07. Hey Jude
08. Deep River
09. Mago-Uta 


Hiroshi Suzuki = Masahiko Togashi Quintet - Variation

Year : 1969
Label : Nippon Columbia
Serie : Takt Jazz Series
Genre : Jazz
Style : Modal, Free Improvisations

Hiroshi Suzuki associated to the legendary jazz drummer Masahiko Togashi featuring Yuji Ohno, Jun Suzuki & Tetsuo Fushimi. Masahiko Togashi started to play professionally in the Sadao Watanabe Quartet (1957), later, played for several Jazz Greats as pianist Toshiko Akiyoshi, Helen Merrill, Masayuki Takayanagi, Yosuke Yamashita or Charlie Mariano and likewise in various groups as the Miyama New Herd. He recorded some Free Jazz sessions in 1969 with the Masahiko Satō Trio, various solo projects (whose We Now Create is the first), and the same year, formed his best known quintet, the J.J. Spirits in partnership of Satō. This collectible item of Free & Spiritual J-Jazz, features among the influences of the japanese jazz group Sleepwalker and was selected for the compilation dedicated to their Jazz' favorites (including Castle Cats) called Shibuya Jazz Classics - Sleep Walker Collection.

Hiroshi Suzuki_trombone
Masahiko Togashi_drums, percussions
Jun Suzuki_bass
Yuji Ohno_piano
Tetsuo Fushimi_trumpet

01. Castle Cats
02. Variation
03. Suzu No Uta
04. Alfie
05. Passion

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...