Wednesday, May 15, 2013

Pretty Purdie - Stand By Me (Whatcha See Is Whatcha Get)

Year : 1971
Label : MEGA/Flying Dutchman
Genre : Jazz, Soul
Style : Soul Jazz, Funk/Soul

Not the most interesting album of Bernard 'Pretty' Purdie but note the collaboration of lyricist, singer/rapper, Gil Scott Heron on Artificialness (a letter to Richard Nixon). Among The Playboys featuring in this album, are Chuck Rainey (bass), Cornell Dupree (guitar), Harold Wheeler (keys) and Norman Pride (bongos & congas). Bernard "Pretty" Purdie lends his voice on Stand By Me & It's Too Lateothers titles includes variation of Modern Jive & On The Outskirts Of MinitownWhatcha See Is Whatcha Get and Funky Mozart (based on Serenade No. 13 for strings in G major). Arranged & conducted by Harold Wheeler, produced by Bob Thiele.

01. Stand By Me
02. Modern Jive
03. Spanish Harlem   
04. Artificialness
05. Never Can Say Goodbye
06. Whatcha See Is Whatcha Get   
07. It's Too Late
08. Funky Mozart 
09. On The Outskirts Of Minitown
10. You've Got A Friend
Post a Comment
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...