Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Shunzo Ohno - Antares

Year : 1980
Label :
King Records
Serie : Electric Bird
Genre :
Jazz, Latin Jazz
Style :
Jazz Funk, Smooth Jazz, Afro Cuban Jazz

Shunzo Ohno comes back with his second album released under Electric Bird label and recorded at the Electric Lady studio based in New York. Antares is a typical Funk album to the Afro Cuban & Latin Jazz accents, including amazing grooves occured by the explosive slapping bass (Low East Side, Rum Raisin) play and dynamic latin bongo drums breaks (Bright Side, Antares). Shunzo Ohno plays roughly with the line-up as on Fat Back, featuring Marcus Miller, Kenny Kirkland & Onaje Allan Gumbs, all supported by strings ensemble. All tracks include only compositions of Shunzo Ohno except Rainbow Lovers composed by Kazuko Ohno.

Shunzo Ohno_trumpet, flugelhorn
Robert Arron_tenor saxophone, flute
Onaje Allan Gumbs_electric piano
Kenny Kirkland_electric piano, piano, clavinet
Kelvin Bell_electric guitar
Marcus Miller & Wayne Brathwaite_electric bass
Ronnie Burrage & Edward J.T. Lewis_drums
Ricardo Torres_percussion & birinbow
Juvenal Calderon_percussion

01. Bright Side
02. You First
03. Low East Side
04. Rainbow Lovers
05. Antares
06. Don't Be There
07. Remember
08. Rum Raisin

Post a Comment
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...