Monday, December 29, 2008

Funky DL - Blackcurrent Jazz

Year : 2001
Label : Miclife/Bad News
Genre : Hip-Hop
Style : Jazzy Hip-Hop, Conscious
Website : Washington Classics

Naphta Newman is a british rapper, producer and owner of Whashington Classics label. He released his first album 'Classic was the Day' in 1997. He recorded several songs with Nujabes as Don't Even Try It released for Hyde Out Productions and usually worked with his long time friends, DJ Stixx & DJ Parris. Among his influences include De La Soul, A Tribe Called Quest, Pete Rock & CL Smooth and embraced the style of Jazz and its interpolations with Hip-Hop. This album is the meeting between Hip-Hop & Swing as evidenced samples selected by Newman and the tracks Confused?, Keeping It Classic & Turntables Hate Me are the best testimony. Titles include also featurings with Guile (Wonderful), Sienna (vocals on The Music) and Japan bonus tracks Turntables Hate Me, It Still Rocks, 2Long Remix. Funky DL regularly performs in tour in japan.

01. Talk About
02. 2Long
03. & Ask For DL
04. Confused?
05. Hit Me
06. Roll The Dice
07. Tangible
08. Prediction
09. Wonderful
10. What You Saying Girl
11. Simply 2 Complicated
12. High Endurance
13. Keeping It Classic
14. The Music
15. Turntables Hate Me
16. It Still Rocks
17. 2Long Remix
Post a Comment
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...